Jay-Z and Maxwell lead NAACP Image Awards nominations


The nominees for the 41 st Annual NAACP Image Awards were announced yesterday during a press conference at the SLS Hotel in Beverly Hills.

Taye Diggs, Michael Strahan, Kyle Massey, Chris Massey, Tatyanna Ali and Wanda Sykes announced the nominees.

The 41st annual show will air live on Fox February 26 from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. Tickets information to be announced.

The show honors favorites in movies, music and TV and literature. Music artists LL Cool J, Jill Scott, and Jaime were nominated in acting categories.

Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” lead with eight nominations.

The independent movie received acting nods for Gabourey Sidibe, Mo’nique,Paula Patton and singers Lenny Kravitz, Mariah Carey,
along with a best movie and best director nomination for Lee Daniels.

Michael Jackson’s “This Is It” movie is nominated for Best Motion Picture and the Michael Jackson Memorial Service is nominated for Outstanding Variety Series or Special.

Here are the nominations in the music field.


Outstanding New Artist
· Jeremih (Def Jam)
· Keri Hilson (Mosley Music Group/Zone 4 Inc/Interscope Records)
· K’Jon (Universal Republic Records)
· Kristinia DeBarge (Def Jam)
· Melanie Fiona (SRC/Universal/Motown)

Outstanding Male Artist
· Anthony Hamilton (SoSo Def/Jive Records)
· Charlie Wilson (Jive Label Group)
· Jay-Z (Atlantic Records)
· Maxwell (Columbia Records)
· Ne-Yo (Def Jam)

Outstanding Female Artist
· Alicia Keys (Columbia Records)
· India.Arie (Universal Republic Records)
· Mary J. Blige (Matriarch/Geffen)
· Rihanna (Def Jam)
· Whitney Houston (Artista Records)

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration
· 3 Mo’ Divas (MariMo’ Music Inc.)
· The Black Eyed Peas (Interscope Records)
· Day26 (Bad Boy Records)
· Jay-Z ft. Alicia Keys (Atlantic Records)
· Jay-Z ft. Rihanna & Kanye West (Atlantic Records)

Outstanding Jazz Album
· “Detroit” – Gerald Wilson Orchestra (Mack Avenue Records)
· “He and She” – Wynton Marsalis (Blue Note Records)
· “Kind of Brown” – Christian McBride & Inside Straight (Mack Avenue Records)
· “Poetically Justified” – Marcus Johnson (Three Keys Music)
· “The Real Thing” – Vanessa Williams (Concord Records)

Outstanding Gospel Album – (Traditional or Contemporary)
· “A City Called Heaven” – Shirley Caesar (Light Records)
· “How I Got Over” – Vickie Winans (Destiny Joy)
· “Love Unstoppable” – Fred Hammond (Verity Records)
· “Still” – BeBe & CeCe Winans (B & C Records)
· “We Are All One: Live In Detroit” – Donnie McClurkin (Verity Records)

Outstanding World Music Album
· “11:11” – Rodrigo y Gabriela (ATO Records/Red)
· “Black President” – Sila and the Afrofunk Experience (Visila Records)
· “Morabeza” – Maria de Barros (Sheer Legacy [Sheer Group South African Label])
· “ReCreation” – Zap Mama (Heads Up International/Concord Music Group)
· “Seya” – Oumou Sangare (Nonesuch/World Circuit)

Outstanding Music Video
· “Blame It” – Jamie Foxx ft. T-Pain (J Records/MBK Entertainment)
· “Boom Boom Pow” – The Black Eyed Peas (Interscope Records)
· “I Look To You” – Whitney Houston (Arista)
· “Pretty Wings” – Maxwell (Columbia Records)
· “Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart” – Alicia Keys (J Records/MBK Entertainment

Outstanding Song
· “Bad Habits” – Maxwell (Columbia Records)
· “Blame It” – Jamie Foxx ft. T-Pain (J Records/MBK Entertainment)
· “Empire State of Mind” – Jay-Z ft. Alicia Keys (Atlantic Records)
· “God In Me” – Mary Mary (Columbia Records)
· “Pretty Wings” – Maxwell (Columbia Records)

Outstanding Album
· “The Blueprint 3” – Jay-Z (Atlantic Records)
· “BLACKsummers’night” – Maxwell (Columbia Records)
· “The Element of Freedom” – Alicia Keys (J Records/MBK Entertainment)
· “Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel” – Mariah Carey (Def Jam)
· “Stronger With Each Tear” – Mary J. Blige (Matriarch/Geffen)

For More Information: NAACP Image Awards

About The Author