Joell Ortiz Is The, Captain, Of Lyrically Clever Wordplay On New Single

Joell Ortiz has been scorching mics with his lyrically Grade A prowess long before Slaughterhouse thrust him into the mainstream spotlight.  Originally signed to Dr. Dre’s Aftermath Entertainment as a solo artist around 2007, Ortiz would unfortunately never put out any material with Dre.

The Brooklyn-bred emcee has put out several solo, as well as collaborative albums in his over decade plus since than.  Though his work as a quarter of the now defunct Slaughterhouse is what he’s known most for, Ortiz, has always been a lyrical monster on the mic.  Whether it’s solo or with such greats as Eminem, Big Daddy Kane, Royce Da 5’9″, KXNG CROOKED, or over production from the likes of DJ Premier, Just Blaze, The Heatmakerz, Apollo Brown and Nottz, just to name a few.  Ortiz never takes a bar off.

It’s proven yet again on the BK emcee’s newest single, Captain, which was exclusively premiered earlier today through Vibe and is off his upcoming sure to be highly-anticipated new solo album, Monday.  It finds Ortiz over the soul sample based backdrop of The Heatmakerz-produced track taken aim at his naysayers that said he fell off (even though he put out the very critically-acclaimed and very potently dope collaborative album, Mona Lisa, last year with Apollo Brown).  With such clever wordplay as, “Coming up you heard the hunger in me.  Tough as can be.  You couldn’t Sound cloudy, nuttin was free.  If u ain’t get a record deal then u was stuck in the pees.  Wit dees tryna Spotify had a wonderful stream.  Of income, my outcome was suttin to see.  I was in the Jeep, sunk in the seat, beats bumping tryna outrap Nasir and keep up with Jay-Z.  Crumbling 16’s, I was only 16.”

With Joell having the following to say to Vibe about the new track, “It always feels good to tell a dope beat what’s been on my mind.  My oh my how times have changed.  Enjoy the rapping.”

With Monday set to release in a little over a month on August 30th, Joell also revealed the tracklisting, which including the new single finds three records produced by his longtime collaborators, The Heatmakerz.  Brown, who he collaborated with on Mona Lisa last year, also providing production on two tracks.

1.) Monday (Produced by The Lasso)

2.) Captain (Produced by The Heatmakerz)

3.) Sip Slow (Produced by Apollo Brown)

4.) Champion (Produced by The Heatmakerz)

5.) Anxiety (Produced by Nottz)

6.) Same Time (Produced by Apollo Brown)

7.) Learn You f/ Big K.R.I.T. (Produced by Big K.R.I.T.)

8.) Screens (Produced by J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League)

9.) Jamaican Food  (Produced by The Heatmakerz)

10.) Before Hip Hop (Produced by Hesami)

11.) Momma f/ Blakk Soul (Produced by Nottz)

12.) Grammy (Produced by J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League)